Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Frost Burn (Fire and Ice Series Book 1) by Erica Stevens


   For those of you who have read the Kindred Series, Julian now has his own series!!  I haven't read every single book in that series and I remember not being terribly attached to this character from what I did read, however, things have definitely changed.  I read this book, which happens after the Kindred Series timeline-wise., and Julian has really grown on me.  In fact, this was a great book!  Even if you haven't read any of Erica Stevens's books, pick this one up.  If you like the vampire and paranormal genre, try it out!
   Julian is a complicated, cranky vampire who is hanging out with a bunch of Hunters and Guardians in Frost Burn.  Now most vampires would avoid them, but Julian has changed and decided to help the world instead of doing what many others have by going out and bleeding people dry.  While he is out and about with his friends, he meets Quinn.  She has been trying to survive as a vampire for the past 6 years and avoid as many other vampires as much as possible, but she will do what she must to keep the town she lives in safe.  After becoming a vampire when the rest of her family was decimated, she doesn't trust vampires much, and that includes Julian.  Even though the two are very attracted to each other, there are threats looming on the horizon.  Quinn has some real power to her and there are those who are going to come looking for her.


After years of running, Quinn has finally found a town to settle down in while she searches for the man who tore her life apart. Despite her every intention not to, she’s started to put down some roots and make friends. However, the small bit of solace she’s found is quickly shattered when a group of vampires walk into the bar where she works and turn her life upside down. 
Looking only to stop for a few nights and have a good time, Julian never expected to stumble across someone like Quinn. Determined to keep her free from the vampires looking to use her as a weapon, Julian is stunned to discover himself starting to care for the mysterious woman with a dark past she’s unwilling to reveal. It doesn’t take him long to realize that the vampires after her are only a part of the problem. This quiet little town is hiding a violent secret of its own; a secret that not only threatens the town, but Quinn in particular. 
***The Fire and Ice series is a spinoff based on characters from The Kindred Series. You do not have to read The Kindred Series in order to enjoy this book or its successors. This book has more mature content than the Kindred Series and is recommended for readers 17+***


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...